Helen Fisher
How to deal with rejection
Knowing how to deal with rejection and what to do about it will help you to cope and recover more quickly. Rejection is a fact of life – it happens to us in so many ways:
an ending of a relationship – have you had a ‘Dear John letter’?
unrequited love (hop over to my page on Getting Over Someone)
your partner’s infidelity
not getting the job you hoped for
being criticised by your partner or spouse (hop over to my page on Dealing with Criticism and Rejection)
being called names, treated badly or ‘stone-walled’
your sexual advances perhaps being rejected (see my page on Sexual Problems)
being ‘brushed off’ by people who matter to you
being ignored or forgotten by someone you care about
being ‘abandoned’
an idea or proposal being rejected…
… and so on.

If any of this happened to you (uuuuhm… I can almost guarantee you’ve had a deal with at least a couple of those – as I have too) I imagine you’re feeling hurt, disappointed, perhaps angry and maybe even a failure. These are all normal feelings under the circumstances!
Whatever it is that brought you to this page, by understanding your feelings – and some strategies to see you through – can be a real lifeline. Obviously I’ll talk about dealing with rejection in a relationship, but much of what I cover applies to other forms of rejection too.
Stick with me, I’m going to help you cope with that rejection. (…)
http://www.professional-counselling.com/how-to-deal-with-rejection.html

